Revoke permissions for apps connected to your Twitter account

June 4, 2021

Platforms like Facebook and Twitter allow you to download the information they collect and retain about your activities but the third-party apps connected to your Twitter account may not follow the same policy. So, depending on their permissions these apps may obtain information from and use your account in various ways. If you have any apprehensions regarding the functioning of these apps, you can disable them. Follow the instructions to revoke permissions for apps, you no more require your Twitter account.

How to revoke permissions for apps connected to your Twitter account

Social media services like Twitter collect information about you to display content based on your preferences and generate targeted ads. However, when you connect a third-party app to your Twitter account, you knowingly or unknowingly grant the app access to use your account. As such, these apps can read your Tweets, see who you follow, update your profile, post Tweets on your behalf, access your Direct Messages, and more. If this nature of the third-party apps worries you, read this post to know how to revoke permissions for apps connected to your Twitter account.

  1. Launch the Twitter app.
  2. Go to the Menu and tap its icon.
  3. Choose the Settings and privacy option.
  4. Select Account.
  5. Go to Apps and sessions.
  6. Select an app to revoke its permission.
  7. Tap the Revoke app permissions option.

It’s advisable to regularly review third-party apps which have access to use your account and revoke their access, if not essential.

>

How to revoke app access on Twitter mobile?

Launch the Twitter mobile app on your iPhone or iPad.

Settings Privacy Twitter
Settings Privacy Twitter

Tap the Menu icon (visible as 3 horizontal bars in the upper left corner of the app screen. Scroll down to the Settings and privacy option.

Apps Sessions Twitter
Apps Sessions Twitter

Tap the Account heading. Then, under Data and permissions section of your Account, tap Apps and sessions option.

Revoke Permissions for Apps on Twitter
Revoke Permissions for Apps on Twitter

Choose an app for which you would like to revoke access. When directed to a new screen, tap the Revoke app permissions link.

Hope that makes sense!

>
>

About the Author

Hemant Saxena
(342 Articles Published)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

>

Read More

crossmenu