How to turn off the Snap Map feature in Snapchat

July 4, 2020

Although most of us like flaunting our destination check-ins on popular social networks, we fail to realize the implications of their location-tagging feature. These apps share your whereabouts with marketers to help them sell their stuff. So, even though Snapchat's Snap Map might appear as a great social feature, it can be a potential security and privacy concern. Fortunately, there’s a way to turn off the Snap Map feature.

Snapchat Location Map

How to disable Snap Map in Snapchat Service

You can configure how much access your Snapchat app should have as well as limit the app's options that enable others to see your Snapchat location. Your Snap Map location only updates when you have the Snapchat app open. It doesn’t update in the background! To disable the feature follow these instructions.

>
  1. Open the Snapchat app.
  2. Tap the Location icon to open the map.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. Toggle the Snapchat Ghost Mode switch.
  5. Similarly, to disable Snapchat’s location permissions, open your phone’s stings.
  6. Scroll down to the list of Apps and choose Snapchat
  7. Go to the Locations setting and tap the ‘Never’ option.

How to turn off Snap Map?

Your location on the Map automatically expires after several hours, or as soon as you switch to Ghost Mode. When you tap on a friend’s Bitmoji, it’ll show you how long it’s been since their location was last updated!

Launch the Snapchat app on your mobile phone.

Explore Snap Map
Explore Snap Map

Scroll down a bit to find the Snap Map section.

Snapchat My Location
Snapchat My Location

Tap the location to open the map in full view. Select ‘Settings’ visible in the upper right corner.

Ghost Mode Snapchat
Ghost Mode Snapchat

Next, under the ‘Your location updates while you have Snapchat open’ heading, choose ‘Ghost Mode’. If the option is disabled, simply move the slider to the ‘On’ position.

Now, to disable the location permissions for the Snapchat app, go to your phone’s ‘Settings’.

>

Here, scroll down to the list of Apps and choose ‘Snapchat’.

Snapchat Location Access
Snapchat Location Access

Then, under the ‘Allow Snapchat to access’ heading, choose ‘Location’ and tap the ‘Never’ option.

That's all there is to it! Hope it makes sense!

>

About the Author

Hemant Saxena
(411 Articles Published)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

>

Read More