Telegram Messenger

How to remove the Last Seen timestamp from the Telegram app in iOS

The Telegram app, by design, remembers when you last checked your account and shows it to your contacts that are active online. It does so to encourage direct conversations with people in your contact list, but you can disable it if it’s of little use to you. Check out how to remove the Last Seen timestamp from the Telegram app in iOS.

How to remove the Last Seen timestamp from the Telegram iOS app?

Last Seen notification makes it possible to understand whether a person is reachable over Telegram or not. However, you can control its visibility via settings. Find out how you can remove the Last Seen timestamp from the Telegram iOS app.

  1. Launch the Telegram app.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Navigate to the Privacy and Security heading.
  4. Choose Last Seen & Online section.
  5. See the options visible under the WHO CAN SEE MY TIMESTAMP heading.
  6. Tap Nobody option.
  7. Configure the Never Share With option.
  8. Close the app and exit.

It’s important to remember here, you won’t see Last Seen timestamps for people with whom you don‘t share your own. See how to freeze ‘Last Seen’ in Telegram.

Launch the Telegram app. Make sure, your app is updated to the latest version.

Choose the Settings option (visible as the gear-shaped icon in the lower-right corner of your app screen).

Telegram Privacy and Security
Telegram Privacy and Security

Scroll down to Privacy and Security setting.

Last Seen & Online setting
Last Seen & Online setting

When directed to a new screen, navigate to Last Seen & Online heading.

Remove Last Seen Timestamp from Telegram
Remove Last Seen Timestamp from Telegram

Then, under WHO CAN SEE MY TIMESTAMP heading, tap the Nobody option.

When enabled, the Last Seen timestamp from Telegram app will be removed.

Alternatively, you can add users or entire groups as exceptions to override the option configured under the WHO CAN SEE MY TIMESTAMP section.

Never Share With Option
Never Share With Option

Simply tap the Never Share With option and choose your contacts from the list.

Note – Even if you choose to hide Last Seen time in the Telegram app, an approximate value, like last seen recently (extending from one minute ago to about 3 days) or last seen within a month will be visible to you.

How the Telegram handles inactive Telegram account?

By default, the Telegram accounts switch to the self-destructive mode and vanish permanently after 6 months of inactivity.

Hope that makes sense!

Leave a Reply