Trick to recall an email in Gmail

June 25, 2020

Sometimes, in a fit of rage, you send an email to your colleague you should have avoided at all costs. Moments later, you only regret it and start cursing yourself. Fortunately, Gmail has an option to undo this action. Read this tutorial to find how to recall an email in Gmail.

Google Gmail Service

How to recall an email in Gmail before the recipient reads it

Popular email services like Gmail, let their users delete a sent email or recall an email in Gmail after 1 hour. That’s because the email you send is not delivered instantly. Instead, it’s held on the server-side for a few seconds allowing you to undo the action, if you wish to.

>
  1. Open your Gmail account.
  2. Compose a mail.
  3. Hit the Send button.
  4. To undo the action, go to Settings.
  5. Select See all settings.
  6. Switch to the General tab
  7. Scroll down to Undo Send section.
  8. Click the drop-down arrow adjacent to Send cancellation period seconds.
  9. Choose appropriate time limit
  10. Hit the Save changes button.

Learn how you can fix your email sins of the recent past!

How to recall an email from Gmail?

Open your Gmail account and go to Settings.

See all settings
See all settings

Select ‘See all settings’ option from the menu displayed and switch to ‘General’ tab.

Undo send Gmail
Undo send Gmail

Under it, scroll down to the ‘Undo Send’ section. It offers a small window via which you can undo your mistake, but you only have a few seconds to do it. By default, the limit is set to 5 seconds. You can change it to a maximum 30 seconds time.

When done, scroll down to the bottom and press ‘Save Changes’ button.

The cancellation period you’ve set will be applied instantly across all your devices running the same Gmail account, including the Gmail app on iPhone, iPad, or Android devices.

>
Retract an email in Gmail
Retract an email in Gmail

Now, to test the feature, write an email and send it. Instantly, you should see a message with the following options.

  • Message Sent.
  • Undo.
  • View messages.

Since, you want to unsend the message you sent deliberately or accidentally, hit the Undo link. The period to undo this action will begin, the moment you hit the ‘Send’ button.

Unsend email in Gmail
Unsend email in Gmail

You'll see a confirmation message, reading Sending undone.

That’s it! Hope it helps!

>

About the Author

Hemant Saxena
(411 Articles Published)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

>

Read More