How to change screen timeout for iPhone to a desired value

December 31, 2021

It’s relatively easy to change the screen timeout for iPhone if it goes off to sleep quickly or locks out very frequently. All it requires is a mere resetting of the defaults. So, if you don’t mind tweaking the settings a bit, here’s how you can keep your iPhone screen On for much longer time than before.

iPhone Screen Timeout

How to adjust your screen timeout for iPhone setting?

The default setting for screen Auto-Lock in iPhone is set to 30 seconds. This means, your iPhone screen will turn off automatically after 30 seconds of inactivity but if you spend more time glued to your mobile phone screen, then, you’ll find it more than necessary to change the Screen timeout for iPhone. Find out how it’s done!

>
  1. Unlock your iPhone by entering the passcode.
  2. Tap the Settings icon on Home Screen.
  3. Scroll down to Display & Brightness heading.
  4. Tap the Auto-Lock entry.
  5. Select the desired option.
  6. Exit the Settings.

Keeping iPhone screen timeout setting value to a minimum (1 minute or less) has one major benefit – it extends the battery life of your iPhone. Plus, it safeguards your privacy by not giving anyone who picks up your phone access to your apps.

How to change screen timeout on iPhone 11 or later?

On your iPhone go to Settings.

Display Brightness
Display Brightness

When the Settings screen opens, scroll down to the Display & Brightness heading. Tap it to go to a new screen.

iPhone Screen Auto-Lock
iPhone Screen Auto-Lock

Locate the Auto-lock entry. When found, tap it to open its settings.

Screen Timeout for iPhone
Screen Timeout for iPhone

Here’ you’ll see different options listed namely,

  • 30 seconds (default).
  • 1 minute.
  • 2 minutes.
  • 3 minutes.
  • 4 minutes.
  • 5 minutes.
  • Never.

Select a value to increase your iPhone Lock screen duration.

>

iPhone auto lock option 'Never' missing?

Remove Management
Remove Management

Some users, at the most can set the auto lock for 5 mins as the ‘Never’ option is not visible to them. If you are experiencing the same issue, check if the iPhone you are using is managed by your organisation using a Profile Management on your device.

Go to Settings > General > Profiles & Device Management.

If there is a profile installed, tap on it to see what type of changes are made. Mainly, an organization which owns your device can install a profile to control what features your device has access to. To undo this, you’ll need to ask your administrator to make changes to enforced settings or remove the management of the device. You can find more information on this Apple support website page.

Hope it makes sense!

>

About the Author

Hemant Saxena
(408 Articles Published)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

>

Read More