Delete Google Maps location history automatically

July 6, 2020

The ubiquitous influence of Google Maps is well known. Its geospatial technology (both online and offline) has successfully transformed the mapping landscape and directly benefitted people, businesses, and society. However, there have been concerns around Google storing this information for its personal use. So, if you have any apprehensions regarding the data stored by it, you can stop Google from tracking your whereabouts and configure an option to delete Google Maps location history, automatically. Read to find more about it!

How to delete Google Maps location history automatically

When users enable settings like Location History or Web & App Activity, Google attempts to provide them with more useful information, like recommending a restaurant or a popular shopping outlet. It can use the same for providing other services too. However, if you don't want to be bothered by any additional services, you can enable Google Maps location history deletion, automatically.

  1. Open Google Maps and select the Menu icon.
  2. Go to Your timeline.
  3. Choose Manage Location History tile.
  4. Select a setting from Activity Controls.
  5. Select the desired auto-delete option.
  6. Confirm the action.

Google Maps my location history

Open Google Maps and tap on the menu icon at the top left corner (visible as 3 horizontal bars).

>
Google Maps TImeline
Google Maps TImeline

In the left sidebar that appears, scroll down to the ‘Your timeline’ option.

Google Maps Manage Location History
Google Maps Manage Location History

At the bottom of the new page, you’ll see 3 different tiles. Select the middle one that reads – ‘Manage Location History’.

Google Maps Location History Toggle
Google Maps Location History Toggle

In the new page that opens, select a setting from the ‘Activity Controls’ by choosing an auto-delete option. (Here, you can also enable the auto-delete option if it is not enabled).

Google Maps History Delete
Google Maps History Delete

By default, the ‘Don’t auto-delete’ option is configured for your Google Maps location history. You can change it to either,

  • Auto-delete activity older than 3 months and manually delete any time.
  • Auto-delete activity older than 18 months and manually delete any time.

When done, hit the ‘Next' button.

>

If prompted for the confirmation, tap on ‘confirm’ and proceed further to disable Google Maps history tracking feature.

That’s all there to it! You have successfully configured auto-delete location history for Google Maps.

>

About the Author

Hemant Saxena
(355 Articles Published)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post

>

Read More